West Grand Winter Sports Awards


photo by Kim Bodemann

Academic All State honors went to: (Back L to R), Garrett Miller, Brady Gore, Sydney Ritschard, and Emma Auger. (Middle L to R) Jerrika Jones, Jacey Murphy, Gabby Willson, and Peyton Bodemann. (Front L to R) Ralin Corrales and Kayla DeSanti. To receive the award the athlete must letter in their sport, carry a 3.6 or better grade point, and be a junior or senior.

West Grand Winter Sports Awards

by Kim Bodemann

WG Booster Club

Last Wednesday, March 1, West Grand High School hosted their winter sports awards. Wrestling, Girls’ and Boys’ Basketball, and Spirit Team athletes were recognized for all their hard work and commitment. Coaches spoke about each individual athlete and the team’s accomplishments and goals  Along with the awards given, each sport had a video highlighting their season.

Taking the stage first was Pom and Cheer Coach Shannon Roller who had to step in for head coach Cordie Sherman, as she was on call at a fire. Receiving letters where the entire team of Ralin Corrales, Jerrika Jones, Morgan Jones, Isabelle Eggers, Denise Fletes, Ashlee Givens, Sicely Gonzales, and Anna Mendoza.

Next up was Wrestling, as head coach Brian Strathman along with assistant Tanner Nauta presented letters to Travis Etler, Junior Dominguez, Noah Schroeder, Cody Docheff, Marcos Ramirez, Junior Fletes, and Cameron Wood. 

Following Wrestling, was Girls’ Basketball. Assistant coaches Kara Wilson and Jennifer Thurow presented, as head coach Liz Bauer is checked into a hospital on bed rest taking care of twins. Letter winners for the Lady Mustangs was Peyton Bodemann, Gabby Willson, Rheann Pesch, Jacey Murphy, Kayla DeSanti, Anael Castillo, Emma Auger, Emily Vance, Jerrika Jones, Hailey McNichols, Sydney Ritschard, and Anna Douglass. Receiving participation certificates were Ariel Miller, Ralin Corrales, Ashley Givens, Jessica Gregory, Destiny Barnes, Charish Jansen, Anna Mendoza, Mikayla Shearer, Madison Jump, and Emma DeSanti. Managers Maya Ramirez and Madison Schroeder were recognized.

For the girls’ team, All Conference honors went to Peyton Bodemann as All Conference Honorable Mention went to Gabby Willson. Coach Bauer also gives the “Mustang” award. At the Varsity level, it went to Peyton Bodemann, Anna Douglass received it at JV, as Mikayla Shearer for the C team.

Finishing the evening up was the Boys’ Basketball team. Head coach Leo Pesch along with his assistants Toby Hargadine and Tommy Brynes took the stage. Team members lettering were Robert Amaro, Victor Castillo, Bruce Cordova, Shawn Mahorney, Jake Bentler, Brady Gore, Garrett Miller, Josh O’Hotto, Silas Almgren, Luis Dominguez, Austin Stauffer, and Marcus Sanchez. Athletes getting participation certificates are Kolby Hester, Luke Watermann, Rudy Castillo, Angel Castillo, Jonathan Gale, Brad Heeney, Jacob Heeney, Ivan Lopez, Connor Miller, Jose Rosas-Valente, Raul Sigala, Adrian Sanchez, Ashton Williams, and Tristan Withrow.

For the boys’ team, All Conference honors went to Austin Stauffer, and All Conference Honorable Mention went to Luis Dominguez and Jake Bentler.

photo by Kim Bodemann

The following athletes received all conference awards at the winter sports awards. (Back L to R) Sophomore Luis Dominguez and junior Jake Bentler received All Conference Honorable Mention, and sophomore Austin Stauffer received All Conference for the boys’ basketball team. (Front L to R) for the girls’ basketball team, senior Gabby Willson was All Conference Honorable Mention, and senior Peyton Bodemann was selected All Conference. Players are voted on by all the coaches in our league.

The following award is not a new one. It has been being award around the state for years. It’s just been years since anyone at West Grand has put the student/athletes in for it. This is the Academic All State award. An athlete must letter in their sport, have a 3.6 or better grade point average, and be a junior or senior. The following received this honor, juniors – Ralin Corrales, Jerrika Jones, Sydney Ritschard, Brady Gore, and Garrett Miller, and seniors Peyton Bodemann, Gabby Willson, Jacey Murphy, Kayla DeSanti and Emma Auger.